University Logo             Carillon             Carillon Logo

Tuesday 11 September 2007 1pm in the Quadrangle


Visiting Carillonneur, Rees Memorial Carillon, Springfield Illinois

The Composer Himself

1. Muse, 1991
2. Linda’s Lullaby, 2001
3. St George and the Dragon, 2003
  The Reluctant Knight
  The Dragon Slayed
4. Romanza per Madelina, 2006
5. Ballade Mistral, 2004
6. Barcelona Romanza, 2005
7. Butterfly Dancer, 2005
8. The Chiaroscurist, 2005
9. Variations on Good Night Ladies, 1999
10. Midnight Malagueña, 2006
All compositions by Karel Keldermans (1950- )

Karel Keldermans, Carillonneur of the Rees Memorial Carillon since 1976, studied with Piet van den Broek at the Royal Carillon School in Mechelen, Belgium, graduating “with great distinction”, then with Peter Bakker at the Netherlands Carillon School in Amersfoort, receiving a master’s degree in campanology and carillon performance. He was a Director of the Guild of Carillonneurs in North America for 9 years, and its President for 5 years. He has served on international juries, given numerous master classes, written widely and has made 6 solo CDs and 2 films on the carillon art. With his wife Linda he wrote Carillon: the Evolution of a Concert Instrument in North America and together they run ACME (American Carillon Music Editions) which publishes carillon music. He has given many recitals around the world, and his annual International Carillon Festival at Springfield is justly famous. We welcome him back to Sydney. This program, at our request, features his own original carillon compositions.
Maintained by:
Last updated 14 June 2008.
Valid HTML 4.01!